Hip Flexiblity Issues

Hey guys, I started lifting weights about 5 months ago.

I’d really like to start doing full squats, or even parelell squats for that matter, but my hips just can’t go down that far.

When I lie on my back and try to bring my knees to my chest area, just past parelell I feel as if my femur bone is running into something…There seems to be a block there, and I just can’t go past it.

Do you guys think this is just a genetic trait, or is there a way around it?

its a simple issue with a simple solution.

Do more squats

search the website for “third world squat”, and follow it.

Can you bring your knees to your chest with your knees bent in? (like fetal position)

grayman19: I’m going to read that article ASAP, thanks man:)

kostresa: I should have been more clear, I can’t bring my knees anywhere near my chest even with my knees bent:(

Thanks guys:)

Edit:

Just read “The Third World Squat” article, and im trying to go as deep as possible while holding onto the door knob. I still feel the pressure on my hips though, but im going to keep doing this as long as it doesn’t get too painful.

Thanks again

It’s feeling very uncomfortable so far:( I can’t even get to parelell with my hands out in front of me.

Stretch, inflexible hip flexors is pretty common among people not use to exercising that area.

Start by stretching your hamstrings alot, maybe warm up first with a run or something, stretch, then grab an empty bar and just try and get down there and hold it, if not able to do it with the bar, try grabbing onto a pole or something and just sit yourself down in the “hole” position and really try and arch your back, and keep your butt down there.

The Squat RX series addresses many of these issues, it should almost be a sticky at the top they are so important.

http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=squat+rx&search_type=&aq=f

Start with the 1st Squat RX and watch them all, they are great!