HIIT Works

I’m a newb. I’m 21, 6’ 165lbs ish. I’ve been meaning to start training for like a year, and finally started around two weeks ago. Before that (and I posted about this a while ago) I had been doing some hiit over xmas. Now I’ve started visiting the campus gym at my university.

Anyway, I’m shocked. First of all, the hiit started working right away. Not so much with fat loss, but just how I FEEL. I have tons more energy, I sleep better, it’s crazy…

And then when I got back I started going to the gym and bam! I was really scrawny (and I still am pretty scrawny) but it’s unbelievable how visible the results are already. I’m not sure if my muscles are just more ‘pumped’ because I’ve started using them or if they’re actually growing this fast, but either way I’m addicted.

I just have a few questions.

1. At this stage, would you recommend total body training everytime I go to the gym, or a split of some kind.

2. I’ve been reading some articles, and apparently nutrition is huge. I have a pretty rockin cafeteria here on campus and an unlimited meal plan, but I have no way to measure portions. Since I’m pretty much focused on growing right now, I just eat as much chicken, beef, etc. as possible.

I’ve started avoiding bread and the dessert area (which is huge and amazing but I’ll be strong), and I’ve started swinging by the veggie area for the first time. Spinach leaves aren’t nearly so bad as I thought. Any other advice?

1. How much actual ab work do you have to do to have awesome abs? I keep reading that really all you have to do is lower your body fat %

2. How many months (years) before I’m a beast?

Anyway, I’m pretty excited about this, and I feel like it’s going to be a huge life-changing thing, but I could use some pointers.

Answers to 1, and 4 is something you actually have to try and then you will know the answer, everyone responds differently.