HIIT vs. Mod Cardio For Fat Loss?

I’m just beginning to get back into working out after several years of not doing much. Primary goal right now is to lose fat.

I’m 28 years old, 5’8", started off at 200-205 about two weeks ago, down to about 195 right now, prob need to be around 170-175 given current amount of muscle.

I’m on a fairly good high-protein, reduced calorie diet. Not ultra-low carb or ultra-low calorie, just healthy diet with moderate carbs and calories. Using resistance training and cardio several days a week, usually in morning or during lunch hour. Taking a few supplements - most notably HOT-ROX Extreme.

Trying to figure out what type of cardio works best for fat loss - short workouts of high intensity interval training (HIIT) or longer workouts of moderate cardio like speed walking/light jogging.

I understand that HIIT burns fewer calories during exercise, but stimulates an increase in metabolism that lasts for several hours. Is this worth the trade-off? What’s best for first thing in the morning? Should I continue doing some of both, or focus more on one type of cardio?

So far I’ve been doing a mix of both. On the weekend, when I have more time, I’ve been going on 45-60 minute speedwalks with occasional jogging thrown in right after waking. On weekdays, I do HIIT several mornings a week just after waking, and occasionally after lifting during my lunch hour - usually 15-20 min. sessions.

I’m generally not eating anything before the morning cardio, aside from some Glutamine (and will be taking some BCAAs once they arrive), and then have a protein shake immediately afterwards.

[quote]Frimp13 wrote:
I’m just beginning to get back into working out after several years of not doing much. Primary goal right now is to lose fat.

I’m 28 years old, 5’8", started off at 200-205 about two weeks ago, down to about 195 right now, prob need to be around 170-175 given current amount of muscle.