Higland Games in NE Florida / SE Georgia

Is anyone here a Highland Games competitor in the northeast Florida or southeast georgia area? I’m planning to compete in the Feb 2006 games in Jacksonville. It will be my first Highland Games, and I’m trying to find other competitors who can help me out with technique.

Tom Woolf

I live in Gainesville and am really interested in getting started in heavy athletics myself. Have you already started training or are you looking to get started?

[quote]GreatBigScot wrote:
I live in Gainesville and am really interested in getting started in heavy athletics myself. Have you already started training or are you looking to get started?[/quote]

GO GATORS!

Where do you train?

I live in Gainesville and am really interested in getting started in heavy athletics myself. Have you already started training or are you looking to get started?[/quote]

I started training the events just a couple of weeks ago. I have no competitive throwing experience, so my technique is probably terrible; I’ve done a little O-lifting, though, and that helps. At this point I’m still getting a feel for the techniques and training implements. I’ve ordered a training DVD, but haven’t got it yet. So far I’ve got stones of various weights to practice the clachneart, an adjustable practice hammer (4’ PVC handle with weight plates for the “head”), and a not-quite-straight 16’ log for a practice caber. I’ve got a weight handle and a three-tined pitchfork coming in the mail this week.

I’ve been practicing throws at the local baseball field. I’d like to find someone more experienced than myself to help me with technique, but lacking that I will do what I can on my own.

I’ve registered to compete in the Charleston Highland Games on the third weekend in September. This will be my first taste of actual HG competion. I’m hoping to learn a lot in Charleston, then make a good showing in Jacksonville in February.