T Nation

High Weight, Low Rep, More Sets

I'm kind of new to strength training/weight lifting.
I started lifting to gain some muscle and strength but have found that the 3 sets of 10 reps scheme is producing very less results lately.

I was reading so much in the past few days and it suddenly dawned on me. Is it possible to stimulate maximum muscle growth by lifting heavy weights for low reps and doing this for Multiple sets?

For example:
A person can lift a certain weight (60%-70% of 1RM, say 140lb) for about 10 reps
The normal routine would have the user perform 3 sets of these 10 reps.
Total volume = 140 X 3 X 10 = 3120

What if we tweaked it a bit to make the person lift his 90%RM (210 lb) for 3-5 reps and continued doing so for 7 sets?

Total volume = 210 X 4 X 7 = 5880

Has anybody tried this scheme or anything like this before?
Would this translate to more muscle gain?

I'm about to find out starting today.
I'll keep you guys updated on my progress

What you're suggesting is far from new in the muscle building world. I don't think it's possible to lift 90% of your max of 7 sets of 3-5 though. I'd try something like 5 sets of 5, or 4 sets of 8, (at a lower percent of your max than 90%) to change up your sets and reps.

One of the big premises I really took away from Christian is that 8 good sets of 3 reps are better than 3 sets of 8 reps where the reps are less than productive (grinding, resting at lockouts etc).

S

Is this using the same weight for the 8x3 as the 3x8?

No, you will ramp up, start at around 60% and add weight each set.
A workout may look like this.

Set 1 - 180 x 3
Set 2 - 200 x 3
Set 3 - 220 x 3
Set 4 - 240 x 3
Set 5 - 260 x 3
Set 6 - 280 x 3
Set 7 - 300 x 3
Set 8 - 320 x 3

Beginner's question: What about Time Under Tension? It's not that important ?