T Nation

High SHBG/Est, What Actions?

Hi T-people,

I had a blood panel done (It cost me 300 Euros just for this lot, so apologies if it seems insufficient) targeting a few areas that I had reason to believe are suspect.

I’m a 28 year old male, 5’10, 72kg body weight at 14% body fat. I’ve been lifting for 6 years, but dropped about 10kg lean mass over the last 12 months due to deficient caloric intake and high stress. I have taken a lot of steps to remedy both of these and consistent self-tracking is helping me improve.

Zinc: 15.7 umol/L [11-18]

Vit D-25 OH: 90 nmol/L [Deficient <25, Insufficient 25-50, Consider reducing >200]

Oestradiol 145.9 pmol/L [28-156]

Testosterone 27.7 nmol/L [9.9-27.8]

Free T 14.0 pg/mL [8.8-27]

SHBG 66 nmol/L [11-52]

Folate 12.8 nmol/L [7-39.7]

B12: 478.6 pmol/L [141-698]

I believe many here are U.S. based, so I think the T conversion is as follows:

Test 798 ng/dL

I’m open to any informed insights. To my eyes, the Oestradiol and SHBG results are through the roof!

I would appreciate assistance in getting those numbers down (and any references where I can understand the role they play as part of my endocrine system). I’m aware it’s not as simple as change number, problem solved.

Is there any possibility that if I had deficient iodine I could observe this pattern of high SHBG and Oestradiol? Can high levels of persistent stress and/or significant caloric deficiency cause this? Any other vitamin or dietary deficiencies leap out? Any more blood tests indicated that would clarify the problem? Are the Zinc/Folate/B12/D levels sufficient for someone with a very mentally and physically demanding lifestyle?