High School Sprint Training

I’m going to be working with high school sprinters for the first time this spring. Do you have any recommendations for how to structure their strength and track workouts?

I was thinking 3 full body days. Low enough volume to leave room for the sprint training.

I know I can get them strong and that should have a big impact on their times.

Planning to use squats, deadlifts, box jumps, and a healthy amount of posterior chain work.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Other way around. Put their sprint training first and fit the weights in the time available after that.
Who will deliver their sprint sessions or will that be you. If it is an accredited sprint coach they can advise on relevant strength work.

Sprint then strength is the order I use. It will be me. I have some experience from a sports performance internship years back, but I haven’t coached sprinting on my own before.

Will you be using short to long or long to short approach? This to some extent determines the spare capacity for other higher intensity work such as weights and how to programme it.

I have only competed and coached at adult level so you should find more knowledgeable advice on school age strength development for sprinters.

I have been told the biggest issue with school age is availability for supervised training sessions. Often only 2x per week and you need that for the high quality speed sessions.

2 days a week might be better for in season weight training since you need to allow for recovery time for the actual meets. And making them strong won’t necessarily make them fast…that is up to god.

So why train them at all then?

1 Like

Thoughts on concurrent training?

Because god helps those who help themselves.

Making them stronger won’t make them slower.

Concurrent training is a yes for me. But it’s a very general term, you need to decide on how to combine and phase the components.