High School Powerlifting

I’m fairly new to power-lifting, I’ve competed as an olympic lifter so my knowledge on this isn’t where it should be but I am learning. I am the Head High School Powerlifting Coach and Football Coach, My question is to experienced lifters.

We have just finished up our last meet, I had one lifter qualify for state. I push powerlifting for our football workouts basically to give us a reason to workout and my kids are buying in! They love doing it and I love coaching it. We have three meets a year, Division Meet (January), North Half Meet (March), State Championship (April). My question is, our next meet will not be until January of 2018. As far as powerlifting is concerned, should I now focus on their “Raw” Max and ditch the gear until next Fall? Should I also start concentrating on other lift variations such as the “Front Squat” “Floor Press” etc more than I do the big 3?

Thanks for your help

I don’t compete in gear and most people on this forum don’t either, but I hear of some equipped lifters doing lots of geared work all year (Blaine Sumner) and others who might only use it the last few weeks before a meet. Logically, it would make sense to include some geared work, maybe once a month or so at the minimum, just for the technique practice.

I would still keep the competition lifts in there, but they don’t need to be the main focus. Since you are training kids it would probably be a good idea to do lots of higher rep work for hypertrophy. Also, since you guys are competing in gear you could use bands, chains, knee wraps, slingshot, board presses, etc. to work the top end while still building raw strength.

1 Like

Chris said allot of what I was going to. Work volume right now to increase size. 5*5’s are good. I like to find something I can do 7 with and work with that weight until I can get 35 reps out of 5 sets for volume.