High School Off Season Lifting

I’m a high school strength and conditioning coach, I’ll be honest I am not certified like CSCS or anything like that but I am a K-12 Physical Education teacher so I feel I know a lot about the human body and muscles and what not. I have a lot of friends who are more “qualified” and I go to them a lot for questions and what not about training. I do this to help me when students ask me questions.

My question for you is what/how do you think an off season workout should be set up. I think the basics core lift can go a long way (squat, deadlifts, bench press, push press) but others think complex lifts (power clean to press and other power clean variations) are the way to go. Knowing that the kids(grades 8-12) only lift 3 days a week what do you recommend for an off season program. Just looking for ideas. Thanks for all you do.

There are 6 or 7 (depending on who you ask) key movement patterns to train with a young athlete. And he most important thing is to make them strong and technically efficient in those patterns.

The basic 6 patterns are:
Squat
Hip hinge
Horizontal press
Vertical press
Horizontal pull
Vertical pull

And to that some add a 7th one: unilateral leg movements.

Now each pattern has exercises of various levels of difficulty. And much like school you don’t skip to a more advanced “grade” before you have mastered the preceding one.

For example:

SQUAT
Level 1 - goblet squat, KB squat, DB (one in each hand) squat
Level 2 - Front squat
Level 3 - Back squat

HIP HINGE
Level 1 - Romanian deadlift
Level 2 - Deadlift
Level 3 - Power clean from hang, power snatch from hang, KB swing
Level 4* - Power clean from floor, power snatch from floor

• This level is no necessary to reach a the early high school level

HORIZONTAL PRESS
Level 1 - Push ups (don’t laugh most don’t do them properly)
Level 2 - Bench press, incline bench press
Level 3 - DB bench press, incline DB press

VERTICAL PRESS
Level 1 - Military press