T Nation

High Bar Squat Form Check

formcheck

Hi there fellas, I am starting to incorporate High Bar Squats to my routine, I’m currently used to doing them Low Bar, so I need any advice you could provide to be sure that I’m doing High Bar correctly, I recorded two videos:

First one.

Second One:

Looks fine, for a 50% effort. Put 80% on there and give us another look.

Well…I know that it is a little weight, but I’m still learning how to do it, I just wanted to be sure that I wasn’t doing anything wrong from the get go, since I know it is better to improve in form, and then adding weight, if I cannot do them correctly with little weight, I have no business increasing the weight.

I just want to be sure that I’m not leaning forward too much, or that I’m hitting proper depth, without too much buttwink and that the bar is properly placed in my back, that sort of stuff. But thanks for the feedback anyways.

The vid is dark, and the angles are not very good, and are obstructed.

But from what i can see, you look like youre trying to stay too upright. Why are you worried about being forward?
Its ok to have a natural amount of forward lean depending on your structure. Trying to stay so upright will rob some horsepower from your backside/hips. I didnt see any buttwink.

I thought that you were supposed to be more upright when doing High Bar Squats. I lean forward during Low Bar’s. I lean forward a little while doing High Bar, but I didn’t think that I was too upright while doing them. I’ll keep that in mind for the next time then.

It’s always acceptable to have some degree of forward lean in a back squat, regardless of high bar or low bar, in my opinion.

Here’s a couple of the best high bar squatters in the world. When in doubt, check the Chinese. If they don’t have it, the Russians do.

They have almost no forward lean. Shoutout to that incredible Chinese weightlifter mobility.