Hi, I'm New to T-Nation...Sorta

Hi, my name is Carlos Moran, I'm 17 years old, and I began my vision quest last september.  I just wanted to post this topic as a way of getting to start chatting with you guys on the right foot. 

I’m starting to bulk and I’m currently a little over 140. I plan to hit 150-165 range, before doing my first cut for the summer. I know it’s not going to be a big bulk phase for me, but I’m new to the bulking and cutting phase theories.

Welcome to the site.

You may want to postpone that cutting phase until summer of 2008 and just spend a full year bulking.

You think so? THat’s what I’m debting with myself right now, because I still have that stupid desire to have “rip abz” for the upcoming summer, but if more of you guys advise me otherwise, I think I’ll stick with the bulking.

how tall are you? Shooting for 150-165 seems a little low, unless you’re like 5’6" or shorter. Even then, I’d agree with the above poster, bulk for a year, then cut when you’ve got some serious muscle mass to show for it.

I’m between 5’7-5’8, I’n not tall by any means, which is why I was shooting for not huge gains.

i’d say for your height shoot for 170-180…

bulking normally means your going to retain more water/fat then if you just had a slow increase in lean muscle mass.

so if you shoot for a higher weight when bulking; then you cut down…you’ll be at a higher weight.

i bulked a while back and when i cut; i lost about 12lbs in 6weeks mainly water weight and then some fat (and a bit of muscle)

now i’m just increasing lean mass while dropping fat. its alot slower of a process but its totally more worth it.

If you haven’t already you may want to read CT’s “The Truth About Bulking” article, that gives some good advice for putting on muscle while minimizing fat gain, so that even if you do decide to cut back a bit for summer, you won’t have to diet too hard.