T Nation

Hi Folks, Just an Intro

About me: I am 6’9.5" wingspan 6’8", 223 pounds 25 years old with a smallish frame. I am very new to body building. I just started 6 months ago and was surprised at how out of shape I was. To be honest I am a bit of a nerd at heart. I used to have all nerdy friends, you know… the kind that fuck around on computers all day. I never really took Bodybuilding seriously and to be honest thought it was a bit of a joke! (probably jealous nerd feelings?)

I started off knowing little to nothing so I made little improvement. I lost about 10 pounds after working out for the first 3 weeks and immediately stopped doing cardio. I was making very small improvement for a while just lifting weights so I started reading everything I could find to see what I was doing wrong. Turned out, I was eating about 2500 calories a day and was exhausted all the time. I boosted this to around 4200 calories a day and I improved very quickly for a couple weeks.

I am improving still and to be honest I am getting a bit addicted to the results week to week. All I know is that the shape of my body appears more muscular even though I have barely changed weight.

Almost everything I have read has stated that it is impossible to gain muscle without eating more calories than your body needs. One thing I noticed… my legs are shrinking! Is it possible that my body is eating my legs to fuel my workouts? that is my only guess. I used to have big legs. I don’t do much for leg workouts because I have a bad knee on one leg and a bad ankle on the other. I try to do a bit but it is nothing compared to how hard I work my upper body.

Anyway, I guess I just wanted to introduce myself since I plan on spending some time here. I have been reading what you have had to offer for weeks/months on both the articles and the forums and have found that this is one of the best resources on the internet.

ramble ramble /end post