Hey, Is This Thing On?

Hello all.

Well, guess I’ve been off the O35 grid for somewhere around 3 years now. In that time, we moved away from Northern Virginia and back to WV, where I’m a professor at WVU. Life has thrown us some challenges with my oldest son being diagnosed on the autism spectrum, but luckily we live in a college town and that has given us access to a lot of high-quality therapy that we wouldn’t have even been able to get back in VA without bleeding us dry.

Throw in taking care of another young 'un, who is now 3, and needless to say finding time to train wasn’t easy. Of course I found every excuse not to train and when I did manage to get into the garage, I couldn’t keep any kind of consistency. Adding in dropping down to about 180 pounds, and I lost a good bit of strength from my competing days.

I’m starting a log on here now with the intention of keeping myself accountable to getting into the gym on a consistent basis. So here we go.

I have been following some basic programs from Greg Nuckols’ website for the past few months and my strength and conditioning levels have improved enough that I want to work my back into something a little more challenging.

So, tonight I started the Extended Russian Training Routine, which is basically just the 6-wk Russian Squat Routine stretched out to a 9-week period and incorporates the other 2 lifts in a similar periodized fashion. It can be tough, but it’s manageable as long as you use training max #s and not psyched out 1RMs, don’t try to do a bunch of assistance work or try to do on a ramen noodle diet.

The training maxes I’m using are 305 squat (beltless, high bar - sad, I know :frowning: ); 270 bench and 365 DL (also beltless).

Wk 1 Day 1

Squat 245x6x2

Bench press 215x6x3

And that’s all I did. Not much to write home about, really. Squats were solid and no real problems with the bench press either, even allowing for some decent length pauses on each rep.