Herniated Disk and Powerlifting

I’m 17 and I have been lifting for about 2 years. The program I used was through my high school weight lifting class and basically consisted of an upper/lower split with focus around flat benching and back squats.

I start college in the fall and was planning on joining the power lifting team, but I had some pretty bad lower back pain radiating into my right leg about two weeks ago, and had to take some time off.

A few tests and an MRI later, I found out that my L5 is herniated, and will probably only get worse. Right now it seems like it’s more genetic, both my mother and grand-father have degenerative disc disease, and not the result of any specific injury.

The pain isn’t unbearable and the damage to the disk itself seems to be minimal, it’s roughly half the width of my other disks.

I haven’t been in a weight room for about 3 weeks, and I plan on spending tomorrow trying to regain a sense of my limitations. I was planning on trying out a 3 day split, with focus on one of the three main PLing movements each day, followed by some type of assistance exercise, but that was before I was having problems.

I’m looking for any advice that anyone might have regarding heavy spinal loading and disk herniation. The best course of action that I’ve come up with is to supplement back-squats with front squats and to avoid back squatting unless I seem to be having a good pain-free day or I just can’t fucking take it anymore.

Thanks in advance,
Jes

I’d recommend seeing a reputable physiotherapist/doctor.

Looks like this could get really serious if you don’t address it correctly.

Do decompression hangs with the chinup bar everyday. THis will help decompress the spine and help with recovery.

I would also recommend swimming to heal the back as you are decompressed in the water and you can gain flexibility, strength, and endurance without overloading the spine.