Hernia Experience

Discovered a hernia in my low left abdomen a couple days ago, no pain but some discomfort. Any advice from folks who have experienced the same about exercise limitations, surgery or living with the hernia?

No living with it; get it fixed before it gets worse.

BPC-157 if you want to speed up your recovery.

1 Like

I used to work on that side of the business. @Andrewgen_Receptors nailed it. It won’t repair on its own, there’s real health risk to letting it go, and it will grow larger - which means you’ll end up with a more difficult repair and larger mesh the longer you wait.

Have you had it diagnosed or is it obvious enough you stuck your finger into your abdomen?

EDIT: I need to clarify I am not a doctor; I’m on the industry side.

2 Likes

I had an umbilical hernia and had a mesh repair. I would recommend going to the doctor to get it checked out and repaired! The surgery sucks but it’s better to address the problem before it gets worse.

2 Likes

Thanks for the replies. Yes, I intend to get it repaired, but I can’t get an appointment with my Primary Care Physician for 3 week…3 weeks! Then a surgeon to evaluate and finally surgery. In the meantime I want to continue working out (though I’m sure in a limited way) as much as I Safely am able. So what do you think I can do? Walking, light resistance, kettlebells (?), biking, what else?

1 Like

You’ll live lol. There’s a weird phenomena of people pushing this surgery off for years… that was the concern expressed in this thread. 3 weeks, you’ll be fine.

I’d avoid hinge movements and anything overly taxxing, but everything you listed sounds fine to me - sans squats/lunges/leg press etc.

2 Likes

I trained normally for years and continued to prepare for powerlifting meets (not the most intelligent choice) before I finally went and got mine repaired. You will definitely survive!