Helping A Complete Beginner

I’ve recently made friends with someone and he wants to start going to the gym with me. He has virtually no knowledge of training or nutrition and is very skinny. Unfortunately my knowledge is also somewhat limited and I’m not sure what to suggest to him, he said his sole goal is to get big.
His plan at the minute is 20 push ups a day and he’s started taking mass gainer but I’m struggling to explain progressive overload to him and he seems to have forgot the rest of his body.
Could anyone give me any suggestions for him? Thank you in advance.

20 push-ups a day and some mass gainer, eh?

I’d recommend you and your friend both read Jim Wendler’s 5/3/1 Second Edition. I still haven’t read anything that does a better job of laying out the principles necessary for training success in such a concise and easy-to-digest format. You can read it in an evening and start following these principles the very next day.

Its really up to you and your buddy what you want to do. You can do something that works, or you can do something else. Its all optional.

I’ve already read 5/3/1, it’s my current training programme. I don’t think that’s going to be the best thing to start him on though when he’s never touched a barbell. I think Jim himself said not to do it until you’ve got the hang of the big 4.

It is a fine program for a beginner, and Jim’s written plenty on that topic. That said, my recommendation was not to run 5/3/1 per-se, but to read the book and absorb the training principles espoused by Wendler.

I think the specific program is less important for a rank beginner than understanding the principles for training success, which is why I recommended that particular book. It really does a good job of laying them out in very simple terms.

Your friend seems to have the idea that 20 push-ups and some mass gainer are a good idea. Reading 5/3/1 should cure him of that, even if he doesn’t run that specific program.