Help with WS4SB and Box Squats

Hey all, I’m new to this site and I am looking for some advice. I am a recreational athlete (softball, basketball, and football)who has just started using Defranco’s WS4SB. I have been lifting weights consistently for about 8 months now, but before I was mainly concerned with hypertrophy. Lately I have been focusing on strength for sports. I am confused on how to use the box squat properly in my routine. I thought box squats were supposed to be used for developing explosiveness, and thus saved for DE days. However, Coach Defranco lists them as an ME exercise. Also, Dave Tate said many of the powerlifters don’t even use full squats except for in (and prior to) competition and mainly rely on the box squat. What are the loading parameters if I use the box squat on my ME day (3-5RM) versus a DE day (8-10X2)? Is the box squat still performed in the same explosive manner when using the heavier weights on ME day? Or is it done slower with heavier loads? Any advice anyone can give me would be greatly appreciated.
-Dre
P.S. I am 6ft, 210lbs with 8% BF

[quote]Drecappa wrote: