T Nation

Help With the Transition

Height: 6' 0
Weight: 192
Bench: 315
Squat: 225 x 8
Deadlift: 315 x 4

A little background. I started lifting about 2 years ago. I lifted for 6 months, but I did not do deads or squats (stupid I know). That is why my benches are not in proportion to my squats and deadlifts. I then took 6 months off and have been lifting consistently for about a year. Over the past 10 months I have been doing a low carb diet and have gone from 265 to 192.

After reading some articles here on T-Nation I have come to the realization that I have been doing it wrong. My fat intake has been too low and my overall calories are way too low. Every week I have a cheat meal/day but I have not taken any breaks longer than a couple days from my diet. I am worried that I have permanently screwed up my metabolism. Is that possible?

I know my body needs a break from dieting. I want to maintain this bodyweight for a few months and then try doing a clean bulk.

I would like to transition off of the low carb diet but I just wanted to ask how to do the transition? Would it be best to add about 70 grams of carbs to my post workout shake (it is currently just 69 grams of whey protein) for about two weeks to see how my body reacts? Then add something like oatmeal to my breakfast for two weeks along with the PWO shake? And then slowly add carbs throughout the day?

Currently my diet looks like this (I am limited to what my college cafeteria serves and what I can store in my dorm room)

3 scrambled eggs
2 hardboiled egg whites
1 cup of cottage cheese with cinnamon
Bowl of fruit and an apple

Chicken breast or 5 oz of tuna
1 oz of walnuts
1 cup of peas

Protein shake(Procomplex from Optimum Nutrition)
1 oz of walnuts

Can of tuna or chicken

Caseine protein shake

Also, I drink about a gallon and a half of water a day

Fish oil (9 grams a day)
Protein Powder
Fiber Choice tablets (6 a day)