Help with Strength Training

Hello

I have been practicing martial arts for about 5 years now. Started with Kick boxing, then Muay thai; than went through a 2 year break due to work and other reasons but have been regularly doing it (3 days a week) for the last 2 years. Presently I am doing Muay Thai and BJJ. I have some limited exposure to weight training as well and at the moment I am focusing on building strength.

My questions are regarding number of reps and sets and the number of days I should be doing weight training. I do weights in the morning and martial arts class in the evening. I am focusing on deadlift (sumo), benchpress, front squats, pushups and planks in the following range.

Deadlift - 40 kg x 10 reps x 2 sets
Benchpress - 40 kg x 15 reps x 2 sets
Squat - 20 kg x 10 reps x 2 sets
Pushup - As many as I can, I am usually able to do 2 sets of 30
Plank - 1 min (twice)

I do this 4 times a week along with 2-3 exercises for body parts. I am 5Ft 9in; and weigh 83 kg.

I had started with the traditional deadlift about 6 months back and was able to hit 140 lbs x 8 reps x 2 sets (excluding the bar) but then my form went down the drain and I hurt my back. When I started again I switched to sumo deadlift.

I would like inputs regarding the above exercise program, nutrition I should be following and how to lose about 4 kg while building strength and mass.

Btw, I have recently participated in my first amateur grappling tournament and won gold in my weight class and I intend to do the same in the august tournament. Any suggestion / idea would be much appreciated.

Thanks
Dabral

Your exercise selection is decent, although it can be improved. First of all, try to understand the role strength plays for you. A very popular notion around here is that your technique training will be more important than your endurance which will be more important than strength. So

technique > endurance > strength