Help With Squats

I have been lifting for a couple of years now although had a 6 month or so break over the summer. Since getting back into it my squat form has been letting me down. I have no problem with 220kgs on leg press for 6 sets of 8 but doing max’s today I could only squat 150. I believe that my legs are strong enough to lift the weight, but I seem to bend forward a lot close to the bottom of the lift and I feel a lot of pressure in my lower back. Does anyone have any advice on how to improve my form or if need be any exercises to improve my lower back strength?

If it helps I have recently turned 18, weigh 97kgs and am 6 ft3.

The only generic advice i can give you is put the bar on your upper back and get it off your shoulders if it isnt already. Also changing your stance and looking at the ceiling during reps could help if you dont do it already. There also isnt much comparison between the leg press and squat, the bottom of the squat is primarily glutes where leg press is primarily legs depending on foot position.

Hope this helps

Do you squat with knee break or hip break form, if you bend forward with a hip break squat there is one problem : the entire p-chain, especially the lower back. With knee break squat yuo,re not supposed to bend foward sicne the trunk is more upright ? Also don’t look at the ceiling, look straight foward.

You do realize that leg press weight and squat weight are not going to be the same, right?

Hi, thanks for all the info so far! I do realise that the leg press and squat weights will be different, I just thought that such a large discrepancy would be caused by a weakness in an area exercised by squats and not in leg press. I am trying to address this area and was trying to get advice from more experienced lifters. I am confused with what you mean by “hip break” and “leg break” squats though. I am very greatful for any advice you can offer Thankyou