Help with Squat?

I took a video of my last squat session with the purpose of posting it to get some feedback on my depth and form. Have been training for about 4 months now so I am still a rookie at this and just want to make sure my lifts are good rather than ego lifting. When I am squatting it feels like I am getting real low looking at the video I am not sure. When I put my cursor where my knees are it seems that I hit that point which means I am at least parallel. Would appreciate all tips and try not to rip me too hard LOL :smiley:

PS. sorry for the poor quality.

My $0.02:

It is hard to judge depth from the angle, but you don’t seem to be cheeseballing your depth. So that’s good. I don’t know if you’d get three white lights in a USAPL meet, but if you’re not competing it doesn’t matter if you meet their standards or not. I’ve always strived to squat with full ROM for the majority of my work sets. Maybe take some side film of a set with 135 and compare it with a heavier work set to see if you’re getting shallower as the weight goes up. Keep yourself honest.

My rather general advice applies to most squatters, myself included. Work on head-to-toe tightness. Spread or screw the floor with your feet. Get your upper back tighter. Brace. HARD. Lots of good articles about this notion with cues, etc. Read lots, try different cues and figure out what works for you.

You can also work on your walkout a bit more. Yours isn’t horrible but you’re wasting energy. I take two big steps back, one more small step to set my feet, big breath, squat. Set up and go!

I’m not seeing any signs of ego lifting. Keep going!

x2.