Help With Squat Flexibility, Back Exercises

I have been lifting weights for almost 2 years (with a few months break) and just recently noticed some trouble with my squat. Whenever I try to go down, I seem to lean forward a lot and can barely get to parallel.

I’ve read it could be ham or hip flexibility problems, but I don’t know how to fix these. Is there a good way to improve my squat flexibility?

Also, I have never done any back work. (Other then what squats would do for my back) Can someone inform me as to what a good back exercise to add to my routine would be?

Deadlifts will better target your posterior chain as it is a hip-dominant exercise. I wont say too much because other, more experienced members will chime in.

[quote]fisch wrote:
I have been lifting weights for almost 2 years (with a few months break) and just recently noticed some trouble with my squat. Whenever I try to go down, I seem to lean forward a lot and can barely get to parallel.

I’ve read it could be ham or hip flexibility problems, but I don’t know how to fix these. Is there a good way to improve my squat flexibility?

Also, I have never done any back work. (Other then what squats would do for my back) Can someone inform me as to what a good back exercise to add to my routine would be?[/quote]

So… what have you been doing for the last two years?

It sounds like the problem with your squat is hip flexibility. The fastest way (IME) to fix it is to… squat. Sit down as far as you can, and hold the low position. When it becomes easy, go lower. Repeat until you’ve reached the nadir of the ROM and come back up. Try this unweighted first, and then use the bar with some light weight on it.

Deadlifts are good back work, as Njrsumc said above. If you don’t have the flexibility to do the full ROM, try rack pulls while working on your flexibility.

Why did you ask for a back exercise?