Help with Setting Realistic Goals

Help with Setting Realistic Goals some advice from some of you more knowledgeable folks. I am a 30 year old Carpenter who has been having back problems for the past year or so. I decided I needed to do some work to strengthen my back and also drop some weight. I went to my doctor for advice and he did a body fat percentage test, which came out at 22.5%. He gave me some advice on exercises for my back and eating better, But then he told me that my goal should be to get myself down to 180 lbs.

This seems patently ridiculous to me, as I have probably weighed more than 180 since I was 12 or 13. Right now I am 6’1, 285 lbs, If this body fat precentage is correct then assuming a target percentage of say 10% that still leaves me with about 70 pounds to go to this target weight. Is this something that I even want to attempt? I have no experience at all in weight or general fitness training, but this seems kinda crazy to me. I took some measurements to hopefully give you guys some kind of better idea what I’m working with here.I’m just worried that trying to accomplish this goal is going to lead to a huge decrease in energy and general health.

Neck 17 in.
Shoulders 56 in.
Chest 49 1/2 in.
Waist 44 1/4 in.
Biceps 17 3/4 in.
Forearms 13 1/2 in.
Thighs 24 in.
Calves 19 1/2 in.

I am just a huge fat bastard making excuses? Or is this really as silly as it seems.
My thanks for any advice you guys can give.

Ok for your weight that is a huge drop, an will look uneven for a 6’1 guy. i would shot for 5-7lbs slowly each month till you get down to about 200lbs. Then from there it is up to you to go further if it does not look bad at 200lbs.

[quote]Dme wrote:
Is this something that I even want to attempt? [/quote]

Only you can answer this.

You’re 285 pounds with a 44 inch waist and back problems. You have to decide if you want to change that.

You may not hit 180, but you could certainly get down a lot from 285…