T Nation

Help with Lack of Progression

I've been working out for about 6 months, but have been following a full body workout 3 x per week for about 3 months. However, I've not really made huge gains, and I've certainly stalled if not started going backwards in the last couple of weeks... could anyone offer any advice?

Squats (3 sets of 12)
Stiff-legged deadlifts (3 x 12)
Military Press (3 x 12)
Bodyweight Chins (as many as I can x 3)
DB Bench Press (3 x 12)
DB lateral raises OR triceps iso OR biceps iso (3 x 12)

--> Try and reach failure at the last 2-3 reps of each final set.

I certainly feel the pump after the workout, but I'm not sure why I'm not progressing... think the suggested possibilities might include:
(a) lack of food?- I doubt it, as I eat 3000+ calories per day. (5 ft 11, 78 kg, 12.5% BF)
(b) training workout- maybe full bodies not giving me enough rest?

Anyone? If it's the routine, when would you recommend someone is ''ready'' to move onto a split or similar from FBs? What workout might you recommend?

someon is "ready" to move to a new routine when they are no longer progressing on the current one. this can be as simple as chaning a few exercises, or totally revamping the bodypart split (or lack there of).

eat a little more, as well.

as far as your next routine, time to start experimenting a little to see what kind of things work best for you, but keep in the big lifts. a main lift plus 1-2 other exercises may be a good place to start (example, flat bench every chest workout, then incline db's, a machine exercise, or flyes). when you start doing multiple exercises per bodypart, you'll see why full body workouts are generally not ideal for bodybuilding purposes.

start working you arms , not this "biceps OR triceps OR laterals" nonsense.

good luck in your efforts.

3,000 calories is not that much at your bodyweight. I have over the last 60 months gone from 70kg to 80kg without losing my visible abs.