T Nation

Help with Karate/Training Split

Hi everyone.

I’ve just taken up full Kyokushin Karate and I’m trying to work out a training split that will let me work out at the gym and still go to practice twice a week.

My goal is a change in body composition. I’d like to eat at maintenance level and let the karate and weight training do it’s thing. I’m not too sure about goals right now, since I’ve put on a lot of extra fat during my bulk, and I hate not fitting into my clothes.

I’m a teacher in Japan and we’ve been on holidays, and it’s been totally screwing up my routine.
Right now I’m thinking
Mon: Karate
Tues: Upper body
Wed: Karate
Thurs: Lower body
Fri: rest
Sat: Upper body
Sun: rest

Kyokushin is full-contact karate, but there’s no punching to the face (you can totally kick 'em in the head though). Thus you tend to end up pounding on each others torsos a lot, trying to elicit a show of pain or wind them. Kicks are also used heavily.

Option 2 is:

Mon: Karate
Tues: Waterbury’s Total Body Training day 1
Wed Karate
Thurs: Waterbury’s Total Body Training day 3
Fri: rest
Sat: Waterbury’s Total Body Training day 5
Sun: Rest
And so on…

Any advice would be much appreciated
Growr.

bump?

Eat clean…treat your karate days as rest days and continue as necessary with what ever programme you want. There is no need to rest on friday and sunday completely.

kyokushin…i remember doing it when i was a kid, it will def. make you tougher that kumite they have is fucking tough, should be a lot of fun for you…good luck

I’m following a parameter similar to your “Option 2.”

I do an hour of karate on my weight training days, 1.5 hours on non-lifting days. I only rest one day a week.

Osu!
Kyokushin practicioner here.

This is my plan:

Monday:
morning bone conditioning
weight lifting
afternoon plyo work
night karate
stretch

Tuesday: morning bone conditioning
afternoon high intensity jogging
20 minutes
night karate
stretch

Wednesday:morning bone conditioning
weight lifting