T Nation

Help With Food Choices

hey there,
Just looking fo a little help on my food choices I want to make sure that i am eating everything that is going to benefit me and at the right time. I have read the all the nutrition articles a little hard to understand but did read them. My program is starting strength 5x5 I have been doing that for 1 month feeeling good gaining in all lifts.

I’m a beginner, I am 6’ and 165lbs when i started woking out i was 160 so i have gained just hope that its not all fat. I’m not scared to put on fat just want to build muscle, get big.

breakfast:
2 eggs 3 egg whites
1 cup oatmeal
2 scoops whey and natural pb

snack 1:
1/2 cup oats
1 scoop whey
6 oz. lowfat yogurt
1 orange

lunch:
8 oz chicken
whole grain brown rice
broccoli

snack 2:
6 oz. tuna
whole wheat bread 1 slice
spinach
1/2cucumber

dinner:
chicken, pork, steak, depending on avail
some sort of veggie
brown rice
1 glass 1% milk

my workout usually comes after snack 2 since i work 10 shifts. PWO is usually

2 scoops whey
natural pb
milk
creatine w/ grape or apple juice
then dinner

on days that i don’t workout I will drink a shake before bed. That all usually ends up around 3200 cals give or take a few. 250 protien and about 225 carbs? give or take.

Any sugesstions please I know that it’s not the best just what I have come up with from reading and such.

Very Very good diet! Looks to be Tight man! The only thing I would do is not have peanut butter post workout it will slow the absorbtion of the protein you want to get your muscles that much needed protein ASAP and also Id recomend adding some simple sugars to your Post workout shake like dextrose or maltodextrine instead of the apple juice but that works fine to!

PS: Try not to eat pork if possible later in the day you wanna eat fish or pultry not a dark fatty meat!

[quote]Dave.F wrote:
Try not to eat pork if possible later in the day you wanna eat fish or pultry not a dark fatty meat![/quote]

WTF? Pork is white meat.