T Nation

Help with Exercise Selection

Hi guys,

I've been lifting for 5 months now but have only been doing 3 exercises: trap bar deadlifts, overhead press and weighted chin-ups. The original plan was to switch/add exercises after 6 weeks but I decided to keep going with my program because I was seeing good results and it didn't interfere with Muay Thai training. This is where I'm at currently:

Before/After

Bodyweight: 62kg/65-66kg
Trap bar DL: 100kg/130kg (2x BW)
OHP: 40kg/55kg
WCU: 100kg/117kg (total)
+38kg added at 62kg BW/+52kg added at 65kg BW (1.8x BW)
(I've been doing chin ups for several years and occasionally weighted with a relatively light weight (<20kg) but without any structure or regularity until 5 months ago)

My goal now is to get stronger while staying at my current weight (65kg) and to get a 2x BW chin-up, BW OHP and 2.5x BW trap bar deadlift, hopefully without conflicting with Muay Thai.

I have a program in mind that is similar to what I've been doing but requires 4-5 exercises spread into A and B days. I'd like exercises with the most bang for my buck and the least amount of training possible (the less complex the form, the better). My thoughts:

A:
Overhead press
Trap bar row
Front squat

B:
Weighted chin ups
Trap bar deadlift

• Trap bar loaded carries as a finisher on some days

Would this cover most of the bases? I've been using the trap bar DL as both a squat and a DL but I think now I need a more dedicated squat movement, as well as a horizontal pull. I'll add in a horizontal push down the line somewhere if I get access to dip bars because I'm apprehensive about benching without a spotter and the gym is usually empty when I go in.

TL;DR basic questions:
1. What is the best squat to pair with a trap bar DL?
2. Is this split good or should I move some exercises to different days/switch the order of exercises? My main emphasis is WCU so they are usually first.
3. Any other good exercises to add in?