Help with Cardio in a Strength Workout

Hi every one! I’m a 27 years old guy . I’ve been lifting using the Brooks Kubik dinosaur training Beginer program for a year now ( near the end of the training). I’m a Paramedic so lift people every day at the job which is why training is slower because sometime body feels too tired to lift. I’m really aiming at gaining strenght. Think is i’m getting fat! 6’2" and 250 pounds ! So i was looking to start some cardio in my off day ( i do my grip training in my off day) any idea on what do to ? I have my gym at home and don’t have any cardio machine. I was thinking of starting rope jumping. I’m really looking at powerlifting and strongman kind of training is Dinosaur training good? I’m really enjoying it and i can feel the difference in my daily job! But i’m beginning to gasp for air going up stair !!:S i need some help!

buy a pair of trainers, and go for a walk. If walking is too easy, jog. If that’s too easy, run fast.

I did jogging in the summer, but soon began the have knee pain. But in the winter at -25 celsius, i’m not too much into doing my cardio outside that’s why i began to think about skipping rope

I would make certain recommendations, but without knowing how you train it’s a lil difficult.

What’s the saying… you can NEVER out train a bad diet. Might help if you gave some information on your diet.

3 Likes

@ChickenLittle is right. If its weight loss that you are after, cleaning up your diet is the way to go. Since you are a beginner, you will likely still be able to add a considerable amount of strength on a restricted diet. As far as cardiovascular work, I would recommend purchasing a weight vest. Since you train at home, all you’d have to do is go for a walk with it. I have one and have used it on and off for years.