T Nation

Help with Blood Test Results for a Newbie

Hi Guys,

I’m a newbie here and to the world of TRT. I recently had my bloodwork done and I’m looking for some peer advice/interpretations of the results prior to going back to see my doctor. This is only because I’m in the UK and TRT is considered some sort of witchcraft by medical professionals here. Basically I want to go in well armed with knowledge and advice and learn as much as I can as well.

I’m 30 and always been in good health, but the last couple of years I’ve had lower sex drive, bad lethargy (which seriously intensifies after the gym) and have struggled to focus at work, which is very unusual for me. What’s also strange is that after going to the gym these days, I can just feel incredibly down the day after which is strange as it only happens after heavy weights etc.

My interpretation is that I have low free test and even my total is on the lower end based on some studies I’ve been reading. The high prolactin is a concern to me, but is likely stress related in my opinion, but could be contributing to the low free test.

I’m wondering whether I should be considering TRT here (obviously pending another confirmatory test)?

Here are my results…

Thanks in advance.

Tom

You’ll find doctors not overly concerned with bottom on the range levels, it’s party do to no one really knows at which point symptoms start to develop, everyone will experience symptoms at different ranges and that makes it difficult to determine if low-T numbers are causing your systems because so many other medical conditions could be responsible.

Your prolactin is high and may be a link to low thyroid hormone (Free T3) levels, but you don’t have any active thyroid hormones tested, the Free T4 is not the main active hormone, the Free T3 is where the rubber meets the road.