Help with Back Workout

So unfortunately, I feel as if my lats are one of my biggest lagging bodyparts. I’ve been hammering away at it for the last 7-8 months and even though it is quite improved and probably above average, I don’t feel like it really fills out quite like it should for someone my size (5’11.5, 209 pounds ~14-15% body fat.)

Certain exercises I just have an extremely difficult time feeling, such as lat pulldowns. I’ve watched numerous videos on it, but for whatever reason I just cannot feel the lats engage whenever my elbows are beside my head. I don’t seem to have a problem feeling the lats in “lower lat movements” such as any rowing variation or close grip pulldowns. I am also completely unable to do more then a single pullup. I’ve been doing assisted pullups, but these seem to change the strength curve on the exercise and don’t give as good of a contraction as even a single pullup does.

If anyone has any advice on developing my back I would greatly appreciate it. More so then any other muscle group, I almost completely measure the progress I am making in the gym by my back.

i noticed a new thickness in my back after i started doing Meadows style one arm barbell rows and deadlifts from the floor. Deadlifts 3 working sets of 8, one arm barbell rows 3 working sets of 8-10.

if you have access to a pulldown machine, i suggest reverse shoulder width grip pulldowns with 1 second squeeze at finish and my favorite lat exercise straight arm pulldown. it will be more brutal if you superset these 2. pre-exhaust your lats with straight arm pulldowns then immediately do reverse grip pulldowns.

when i look at my brand new back photo, i see things that i havent seen before.

one arm barbell rows definitely rock.

pre-exhaust your lats with a really slow, controlled straight arm pulldown before you do your regular pulldowns. Really flex your lats at the top of the movement, and make sure the negative is really slow.