Help With a Program for Throwing

I joined my high school track team and I’m going to be throwing. I would like to develop a lifting program in accordance with the fact that I have limited time due to having practice on weekdays, and to help with the throwing movements.

“Stats”:
Age - 16
Training age - 8 months
Weight - 150 lbs. (up from 115ish before I started lifting)
Deadlift - 215 X 7
Front Squat - 145 X 4
Bench Press - probably around 140 for a max

Track practice goes til 4:30 everyday and I don’t get home til around 5. I’m not sure whether to eat something, wait a little while and then lift, or what (I would prefer to train often and short rather than less frequent and long).

I will begin bringing some grape juice to sip on during practice to prevent catabolism (should I also put some l-glutamine in?). I’m looking for strength but also to break this plateau of 150 lbs. (been at that weight for over a month). I’m not sure what throw I’m going to be concentrating on.

Help would be appreciated, and if you need to know more info, just ask.

Thanks.

I hate to sound like a broken record here but seeing as you need a very basic strength routine, I’ll refer you to Bill Starr and the 5x5. Use the version with Power Cleans and High Pulls (instead of Barbell rows and Deadlifts).

Also, search Dan John’s stuff here and at DanJohn.org.

How’s your tollerance for whole milk?

This statement will be heresy on this site, but don’t sweat the weights right now (even though you do need to be much stronger to be an effective thrower). For weights, just do whatever the coach asks. Put most of your time and effort, even outside of practice, into learning the throws.

After the season ends, start an off season training program to put on the size and strength. As a reader on this site, you will have learned a lot more by then to be able to put together an effective program.

Hmm…thanks for the different perspectives.