T Nation

Help!!! What am I Doing Wrong?

I’ve been lifting on and off for 12 years and steady now for…5 years and well…my physique sucks. I wrestled and walked around at 125 in high school (not the best move I know), I also played soccer and plenty of street hoops. I was never ripped and never had a six pack. So you might understand my frustration.

I was discouraged and at an impasse when I recently stumbled upon Poliquin’s philosophies. So I’m pretty sure I have some serious insulin resistance going on. Long story short, I cut out most carbs, aside from lunch and post workout and stepped up my supplement routine (seemingly to no avail). Here’s what it looks like:

BREAKFAST
STEAK, CHICK., FISH, OR OTHER LEAN MEAT- 8 OZ
ALMONDS OR OTHER NUT- 3.5 OZ
3- fish oil gels
animal pak multi
3- fiber pills

MID MORNING SNACK
WHEY PROTEIN- 2 SCOOPS (48g OF PROTEIN)
3- Universal beef liver pills
3- Fish oil gels

LUNCH
1- MED OR 2- SM. BAKED SWEET POTATOES (NOT CANNED)
SMALL SALAD
or “Chipotle” salad w/ about 1/2 cup of brown rice

PRE-WORKOUT
1 SCOOP OF WHEY PROTEIN (24g OF PROTEIN)
Gaspari Super Pump
Universl Animal Stak

POST-WORKOUT
WHEY PROTEIN- 2 SCOOPS (48g OF PROTEIN)
creatine mono- 5g
glutamine- 10g
fenugreek- 900mg
bcaa mix- 1 scoop
1- MED OR 2- SM. BAKED SWEET POTATOES (NOT CANNED)

DINNER
LARGE SALAD OR OTHER GREEN VEG.

BEDTIME SNACK
CASEIN PROTEIN - 2 SCOOPS (48g OF PROTEIN)
1/2 CUP- GREEK YOGURT, PLAIN
fish oil gels- 3
Universal beef liver pills- 3
Fiber pills- 3

All of this amounts to around 2800 cal., I’m 5’9", 204 lbs, 14% BF (approx.)
I’ve been following this nutritional regiment along with Advanced GVT (from the Poliquin site) for 6 weeks. The strength gains are there, but my weight has stayed the same throughout and I cannot visually see any difference, except for a little more definition in my biceps.

So my goal is, I imagine like most men, to maintain or gain muscle while shedding body fat.
Any pointers you guys can give would be greatly appreciated