Help w/ my resume ...

Hey everyone. I’ve been training some of my friends and family now for a couple of years. I really enjoy it… well, if they want to learn and try things. I’m looking to get setup with a training position at a local health club. I’m not certified, but I was told if I was signed up for the test/seminar when it comes around this July (NCSA)… I’d be fine to start training now. I do have to turn in a resume, though. Now… I have a lot of training experience, but none of it is formal. How would you guys recommend I spice up the resume some? He told me not to worry too much about it, but I’d like to make it look good. Thanks guys.

Don’t try to embelish too much, but make sure you use “power” words that show initiative and drive. If you’ve trained yourself, that helps. If you’ve trained others (for example I was “training” my bike team), say so. I got a job at a Bally’s (not that it’s such a great accomplishment) by demonstrating knowledge and a forthright attitude. I just told them “I’ll put my knowledge against anybody on your staff.” Confidence is key, as they’re looking more for somebody who can sell contracts than somebody who REALLY knows what they’re talking about (sad commentary that it is, it’s true). A saying in that sort of biz is “You don’t have to be right, you just have to be sure.”