Help, Squats & Rounding Back

Hi. I’m relatively new to squatting and I’ve read a lot of the articles here about how to use proper form. I’m having trouble keeping my back from rounding though. I wasn’t sure if I was rounding my back at the bottom so today at the end of my workout I did just some body weight squats while watching in the mirror and I can barely get to parallel without my back rounding out.

How can I work on this? I’m trying to improve flexibility, but is the problem just from strength? I mean, if it’s rounding with just body weight I don’t know if that is the issue. Should I just not go past where I can keep my back straight? In that case I wouldn’t really be doing full squats…

read anything by Dave Tate- he tells you to arch your back when you sit onto the box (and if you’re not box squatting- GET DOING IT). Follow his advice on squat form and this may fix your issues.

strengthen your abs and lower back- sounds very simple, but that will solve your problems. losing the arch in the squat is because your low back is weak or you are not keeping the arch. this is tricky to learn (keeping the arch) but with mental cues or help from training partners you can fix this issue.

stop squatting in front of the mirror too- that will fuck you up. Change the J hooks around and face the gym/wall instead of the mirror. this will teach you how to squat by feel instead of by sight and may fix 99% of your problems.

CSR

Bodyweight squats will have that effect. The bar with weight will help you keep your back straight. Literally get under the bar and pull your shoulder blades back together, and keep them there, then stick your ass out a little and squat. Keep your chest forward and do not look down, look straight to slightly up, and when you come back up, think of driving your heels through the deck and driving your hips forward. Do not contract your abs.
I am no strength coach, but I think this might help. Let me know if it does.