Help Setting Up a Strength Program

Hey,I’m new to T-Nation and I was looking for some help in setting up a program. For the past couple weeks of been reading tons of articles on this site. There is so much good information here and I love it. The problem is that I really don’t know where to begin.

I am a college swimmer and have been swimming competitively for 10 years. I’m in very good shape and have lots of endurance. I’m naturally a pretty thick guy and fairly strong. I have a decent amount of experience in body weight exercises including combat conditioning by matt furey. I’ve now decided that I want to get into weights because from the little experience I have had doing them I enjoy it quite a bit.

What I’m looking for is a program that will increase strength and power for my whole body. I also want to look good but that is a second to increasing strength and power. I also would like something that allows me to train often. I love training and with swimming I’m use to practicing twice a day so I would like a program that would let me work out more than 3 times a week. I’m in very good shape so I can handle frequent workouts. Sorry for the long post. Any help would be appreciated.

Well strength, power, and looks aka hypertrophy (bigger muscles) are only the same beast to a certain extent. Unless by looks you mean you have a higher than desired body fat %. Really you’re not narrowing your search down nearly enough. Lifting 3 times a week? Probably two thirds of the routines on this site either are or can be adapated to 3 workout per week program.

You’re talking about frequency which at first made me think you were interested in an HFT (high frequency training). But 3 times a week looking for streagth power and looks? You gotta be more specific. What muscles are you looking to target? Clarify good looks. How much power do you want?