T Nation

Help Selecting Proper Beginner Routine

I've been working out for about a year now and like 99% of all new guys in the gym I spent the majority of my time "majoring in the minors." Doing a lof of pointless isolation work and neglecting to workout my legs like I should. I also have yet to find a workout routine that I've stuck to. Everything I've done thus far has basically been a waste of time. I've put on only about 15lbs in my first year of training and that's mostly been due to my efforts in trying to eat more.

All of this being said, I know what I've been doing has been wrong and as I mentioned before, pointless. However, part of my reasoning behind my "methods" of training have been because I have bad imbalances. From the time I could walk until I graduated high school I played baseball like it was a fulltime job. I was a pitcher with prospects of playing in college. After years and years of throwing bullpens, my left arm has become incredibly more dominant than my right. Now before everyone jumps me saying that everybody has a dominant side and imbalances, my arms and even chest are noticeably different in size, especially when I'm wearing a t-shirt.

My whole left arm including; bicep, tricep, and shoulder are larger and stronger than my right causing my chest to also become imbalanced. This is due to when working out my chest my secondary muscles can't keep up. So just to be clear.. left arm is stronger so it does the work leaving my left pec weak, right arm is weak and unable to handle the weight creating a stronger and larger right pec.