T Nation

Help Redesigning This Program

Hey, I have been trying to design a weight training program that will complement my martial art, called Hapkido. I have been doing Hapkido for over 6 years yet I am still a novice in terms of strength and muscle size. My main goals are to improve strength and size as I realize that it is one of the most, if not, the most important foundation for practically all athletes to have.

Though I would like to incorporate training of the hands, wrists, feet, ankles, neck, as well in order to improve my striking power and to prevent future injuries in those areas. I tried to design and lay out a resistance training program myself with all the knowledge I have on strength and conditioning and anatomy and physiology.

I also tried getting help with obtaining a well-designed program for myself by asking questions in the beginners forum; however, trainers such as Colucci had eventually replied that the training routine I laid out is not going to build strength, power, or muscle size and that it’s poorly designed in terms of exercise choice, training frequency, bodypart imbalance, and set/rep scheme. He suggested that I go to combat forum here, for input.

I’ve even looked all over the internet for countless days, but I have found no well-designed program for Hapkidoists like myself that also will get me to my goals. I know it seems as if I am overanalyzing on what to do, but I would appreciate it if someone could explain to me on why this training routine that I’ve copied below won’t work and how I can significantly improve it so that it optimally complement my training in Hapkido.

Monday: 45 min. Hapkido class. After class, I would perform a few forearms exercises in a
circuit including wrist rollers, knuckle pushups, and fingertip pushups. I would do
one set for each exercise per circuit without going to failure and then repeat the
entire again 1-2 more times.
a few hours before or after my Hapkido class I would do: