T Nation

Help, My Son Wants Bigger Arms

I’m not new but I’m no expert… my son is fifteen, full of T. and wanting bigger arms. I’ve been taking him through full body workouts and we seem to be making gains everywhere but he keeps telling me his biceps are never sore the next day. that’s his goal, BIGGER ARMS. I’ve had him do Dr. Darden’s arm plan, HIT to total failure, etc. taken him to the point where he cannot even hold his arms up at the end.

He seems to recover very quickly though.

My question is, just because he doesn’t get sore does that mean we are not intense enough or do young arms grow just as much with out the pain the next day like I have after a hard arm day?

thanks for any help!

Are you progressively adding weight to his lifts? If so, you have nothing to worry about.

[quote]zephead4747 wrote:
Are you progressively adding weight to his lifts? If so, you have nothing to worry about.[/quote]

Yes, He just doesn’t get sore in the arms.

im pretty new here and im no expert either… but im 17 young. i dont think that soreness is necassarily a definite sign of growth but it makes me feel like ive achieved more if i am sore the next day/days. i just started a new program called pendelum bodybuilding i found on this site, the author is Christian Thibaudeau. yesterday was my first arm workout of the program and it has alot of supersetted arm exercise with some tempo contrasts.

i havent been on the program long enough to say if im going to make any huge gains but my arms are sore as hell today. also Charles Poliquin wrote an article on here called one-day arm cure that is focused on getting big gains in your arms but it takes a full day and im not really sure if its appropriate for a 15 year old. just thought i might suggest some of those things good luck man.

i did a bicep/tricep workout about 10 hours ago and my biceps are already sore. heres the two exercises i did today

incline DB curls