T Nation

Help me Improve my Lifting Essay!

Hello T-Nation, I am a student who has written an essay for a school project about fitness and am looking for some feedback. It is kind of a large project and is hosted on fitness-health.github.io. If you would read the essay and take the survey on the website so I can get some feedback, it would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

OK, couple questions:

1. What class/level is this presentation for?

2. What citation system are you required to use? You are using quotation marks in places where they are not warranted, and you are citing more than is necessary in any system I am familiar with. Review the rules for whichever style is required and edit accordingly - I am referring to your inline citations, your bibliography looks spot on (to me).

3. Read through it again yourself, you have some spelling errors and you are using commas in places which do not require them. When you read through it, pause slightly at each comma - this will help to show you where you need them and where you don’t. Also, why do you bracket the first letter of some words (example, [a]bout)?

4. I understand it is an overview, but you can do better at organizing the whole of the paper. There is no ‘flow’, you seem to jump from topic to topic - a transition between topics, tying the information together, might work better.

Maybe @The_Myth could help. (Rumor has it he’s Nicholas Sparks IRL.)

Far from it, lol.

@boatguy hit the high points.

1. This is for 10th grade class.
  2. We need to use the MLA citation system, which requires citations after any information provided by the website and after any specific quotations I believe.
  3. Did this. Thanks for the suggestion. I have edited accordingly. The brackets are required when editing a quotation at all, so if the start of a quotation needs to be lowercase, it has to be in brackets.