Help Me Feel My Lats!

Lately I have been having A LOT of trouble activating my lats during lat work. My left one seems to be non existent.

I have tried every attachment at the gym, every angle, every exercise in CT’s videos, hangs, stretches… anything I could think of, and nothing. No pump, no soreness, no fatigue.

Some notes:
-My shoulders are in pain and very tight, possibly some of the reason I am having trouble
-My left tricep/shoulder always get fatigued before my lat. Light weight, heavy weight, whatever
-At the bottom position of pulldowns my right shoulder is lower than my left
-Only thing that gets my lats to fire is doorknob stretches

What can I do? I’ve tried single arm pulldowns, I’ve tried pulling with my elbows, tried pulling with my pinkies, tried band pull aparts, shoulder dislocations, foam rolling, whatever.

The only conclusion that I can come to is that there is some sort of shoulder issue, but I am no expert and I don’t really know. This may seem like a desperate message - well it is, it’s starting to effect my pressing, my pulling, and my attitude.

I am seeing my chiro again on Tuesday. I just recently started going to him and he has helped me tremendously, but I have yet to ask him on this matter. What can I do until I see him?

-Howie

Can you contract your lats at will? Have someone touch your lats so you know what you’re supposed to be feeling when doing pulldowns etc… Also, try to develop the mind muscle connection with your lats when outside of the gym. Try to “bounce” your lats the same way that people bounce their pecs and just basically play around with your muscles until you can fire them at will.

Try close grip deadlifts :slight_smile:

Could you elaborate? Like sumo deads, or conventional with sumo grip?