T Nation

Help Me Create/Pick a Program

Hey everyone,

I am 20 years old, 6'2" tall about 213 - 220 pound heavy. I have no idea about my bodyfat percentage... guessing I would atleast say 20%, maybe up to 25%. I have been training for 3-4 years although not that serious until maybe 1,5 years ago. Other than that I played sports all my life.

My focus has shifted to powerlifting specific training, most of my training career I did not have a solid program and I was often skipping between different things. That changed first when I did Johnny Candito's linear strength program. After that I started Jim Wendler original 5/3/1 (Triumvirate), which I am still currently doing. I am not quitting this until I have to but I want to plan ahead and have the next step layed out.

The squat is the movement I want to develop the most, just because it is awesome. In order to do that I want to try high frequency training. I thought about doing something like two times a week low bar, one time front squat + deadlift, 3 times bench pressing. Does anyone know a four day program that matches these conditions or could you help me create one? I was unsure of how to fit my ideas 1) in a four day program and 2) how I could manipulate volume and intensity so that I am able to recover from such a high frequency.

Sorry for the long introduction and explaining and thanks for any suggestions in advance!

That sounds a lot like the RTS Generalized Intermediate program. Find the site, look in the articles for the program. It’s all autoregulated so that volume is based on your work capacity. Just keep GPP work to a minimum in the beginning. There is no reason why you can’t do several full body workouts every week as long as you don’t do too much volume in any single session. The first couple week won’t be so easy, but eventually it’s no big deal. Most weightlifters train at least 4x/week and both the comp. lifts are full body, plus squats and whatever assistance work.