Help in Gaining Vertical

Hi all,

I’ve just recently started hitting the gym, concentrating on leg exercises to help me jump higher. I’m still new to squats, and I usually just work my way up to ~140 lbs at 6 reps each for around 4 sets. I also started doing jump squats with 50 lbs. I then just work my way towards weighted lunges, step ups and kettle bells.

Although it’s only been about a month of training, I mentally don’t feel that I’ve gained any vertical progress at all. My standing vertical has also remained unchanged. Though I do feel that I have more power in my legs when I play sports like badminton and such.

I was wondering if you guys could help me build a more suitable workout routine/program to help me increase my vertical. My standing vertical right now is a lousy ~20"

I’m 5’6 and weigh around ~157 lbs.

From your name, and lack of knowledge I’m guessing you train parkour?

How long have you trained? I’d stop thinking of a jump for a while and get stronger. Much stronger. Then start doing power exercises and plyometrics.

I’m 5’6 and only 120-125lbs and I squat 260lbs for a 1 rep max. I usually keep the weight at around 200lbs though. Trying to lift heavier and put on a little weight.

Also I’ve trained parkour for coming up to 5 years.

Hi there,

I’ve just started training a little over a month. Today, I was able to squat two plates - not bad considering I was barely able to squat the bar when I first started!

But anyways, I’ve gained 0 progress on my vertical so far. I’m also constantly bombarded with so much variation of information on the internet on what to do and what not to do, neither do I know whether something is helping me or not, argh!

How long should I wait before I expect to see any results? Are there any particular exercises I should concentrate on?