Help I sat down and now I can get up!!!

Listen to this. I just started doing box squats with a box just set just below parallel. Also know that I have been doing power squats seriously for more than 6 years. Here is the kicker I can normally do sets with over 400lbs but off the box I have trouble doing more than 275lbs for sets. I really don’t get this phenomenon. Is it normal to have this big of a difference between squats off the box and regular power squats. I know that part of this problem comes from being week at the bottom of the squat. What else could be wrong and what else can I do to remedy my predicament?
Thanks

i have been doing the box squats for a few months and my 1rm is only 235.i have not been training for 6 years like yourself but i have heard that 50-55 % of your 1rm is what you should be working with.as for the poundage,i dont think anyone does more on the box than without the box maybe because we tend to sit back a bit more with the box?anyway,i would like to know more about how your doing them…ie:are you relaxing the hips when on the box or are you just touching the box and popping up?what stance are you using?i am using a bench to get to parallel and still find it very difficult to get the weight back up after sitting on the box.still learning the form onmy end.best of luck

That sounds about right. You’re used to using your quads but at the bottom of the squat when sitting on the box your quads are at a disadvantageous position. When coming up off the box try pushing your feet straight out to the sides instead of pushing down. This will force you to use your hips and you will quickly get quite good at it.