T Nation

Help Gaining Muscle

Hi, I’m posting this thread to get some advice from all you guys and girls out there. I’m a real hard gainer looking to put on 20 pounds of clean muscle mass. Here’s a rundown of my history, current workout and nutrition.

Profile:
5’10
165 pounds
7% body fat

History:
I’ve been lifting properly for the past two years, and before that, two years on and off, during football season. In that time I’ve gained only 20 pounds and have barely increased my bench, squat and deadlift.

Workout:
Day 1: Quadriceps, 1 x failure Leg Extensions, 5x5 Squats.
Day 2: Hamstrings, 3x5 Stiff Legged Deadlifts, 5 x failure Walking Lunge.
Day 3: Chest, 5x5 Bench Press.
Day 4: Back, 3x5 Cable Row, 5x5 Lat Pulldown, 4x5 Barbell Row, 4x5 Deadlifts.
Day 5: Triceps, 5x5 Skull Crushers.
Day 6: Biceps, 5x5 Close Grip Curls.
Day 7: Delts & Traps, 4x5 Dumbbell Shrugs, 4x5 Lateral Raise, 4x5 Posterior Raise, 3x5 Barbell Row.

I focus more on ‘pulling’ exercises as my early years of training were imbalanced, predominantly ‘pushing’ to simulate football and build ego, and I’ve now been left with a stronger anterior but weak posterior - my left shoulder has had stabilization surgery and the right is just waiting. My workouts last no longer than 30mins - to preserve calories - and I’m pretty pumped afterwards. I always pyramid the weights and my form is impeccable.

Nutrition:
Protein: 150g - 180g, depending on if I have time to cook as I’m a full time student.
High GI Carbs: 50g, split at breakfast and post workout to replenish glycogen stores.
Low GI Carbs: 140g - 160g.
Fats: 100g - 150g.
Supplements: Multivitamins and Fish Oil (not included in the fats figure).
Liquids: 1 gallon of water daily.

My protein sources come from red meat, whole eggs, whey, dairy, fish and tuna.

My carbs come in the form of white sugar, bread, white rice and I get my fats from peanut butter, dairy and meat.