Help Dropping Some Fat.

So I’m new to this site, just needed suggestions as to what to do here.

I’m 6’2’', 190lbs. 19 years old.

I’m just trying to figure out how to properly lose the gut that’s been hanging onto me for the longest time.

I had even tried not eating a lot, but, obviously… it’s not helping the situation. Starving doesn’t really do much.

So I’m torn between attempting to lose the gut, and get a more leaner look to me as well.

A buddy of mine is telling me “sit-ups’ll make the abs, man”… but I’m not too keen on that either.

So maybe there’s a plan, or an idea out there that’ll help me out?

Thanks a lot.

I’m no expert but I have heard that if you starve yourself, then your body will hold onto the fat because it’s trying to survive. (I’ve also heard the same about too much exercise)

You probably need to experiment with your diet more.

Eat 4-6 small meals a day (try to do 6) to keep your metabolism up.

Read this article to know what to eat:
http://www.T-Nation.com/readTopic.do?id=459493

Find out your resting metabolic rate.
www.apexfitness.com/html/tools/fit_calc/metab/

Now you know how many calories your body needs to survive. Now you need to learn what kind of activities you do throughout your day and how much you burn from that.

Once you combine those two things, you can figure out how much food you need so you can eat a little under that amount.

Now start keeping track of your diet so you know how many calories you’re taking.
(http://www.fitday.com is a free online journal).

If you survive all of that and persevere, then you should start seeing results.

And keep lifting heavy weights so you aren’t losing muscle.

[quote]akillingjoke__ wrote:

I had even tried not eating a lot, but, obviously… it’s not helping the situation. Starving doesn’t really do much.
[/quote]
starving yourself is never a good idea your body will simply hold onto any ammount of fat it can to survive.