Help Choosing a Program?

Hey guys,

So I’ve been hitting the gym for a couple months now, but I haven’t been following any sort of specific outlined routine. I go in knowing what I want to work on, and try to balance out my workouts. However, as most of you already know, this doesn’t help a whole lot, or atleast, hasn’t helped me.

I’m starting firefighter training in the fall, and my first physical fitness testing will take place at the end of the first semester (end of december, start of januaryish). There are several more following that, so I’m set up for a long range plan.

A little about me: I’m 6’ 4", about 200 pounds and would estimate being in the low 20s for bodyfat %.

My buddy suggested I started the DC training plan with him, but I think for my current physique, it might do more harm than good, so I’m looking for something that’ll help me step in the right direction.

I’m not setting unrealistic goals. I have about 2 years till I would be actually tested for a career, and I believe that in that amount of time, I could reach my goals.

So, my question to you all, is what sort of program would you suggest for me? I will evolve to newer programs as I progress, as I understand that helps to keep bringing gains rather than reaching a plateau. I’ve read a ton of articles on this site, as I’ve been lurking around here for a few months, and yeah, I read “Riddick”'s articles.

Also, as far as training supplements go, I’ve read that they don’t help a whole lot early on, but I’d like some suggestions as to what I might be looking to get further down the line. I’ve read tons of praises for a ton of different supplements, so it’s still a shady area for me.

Thanks in advance guys, hope someone can lend me a hand. Just ask if you need more info.

Oh, forgot to mention, I’d like to stay fairly lean, as opposed to bulking up and having muscles wider than the trunk of a sequoia tree.