Help Building a Meaningful Routine

Hey everyone, this is my first post AND topic on these forums, so hopefully it goes over well. I’m a newbie but I did as much reading as possible beforehand because I don’t expect to just have everything handed to me.

I actually found this site several days ago and since then i’ve been picking random articles that I found very interesting and just soaking up as much info as I can. Wonderful and amazing articles I must say, but that’s enough ass-kissing. I type a lot and I apologize in advance for that. You can skip down about 3 or 4 paragraphs to get into the meat of what it is i’m looking for in the way of advice.

I think I have the diet part covered but if not than I’ll research some more and eventually make a topic about it need be, but my main problem is I don’t know where to start as far as actually training goes.

Right now i’m actually going through a rough period. I still live at home (but not in that “Fat dude in mom’s basement” sort of way) and i’m stuck in between jobs, and I tried finding cheap gyms in my area like the Y or something that do a monthly thing, but out of what little gym information I can find that pertains to my area, the gyms that are listed are mostly in the unsavory parts of Southern Chicago, and I wouldn’t be caught dead in some of these areas even if I looked twice as strong as some of you guys and had a gun.

Sorry, I ramble on a lot. I’m just trying to make sure I cover my bases so I can prevent any, “suck it up and go to a gym” sort of responses, because its REALLY out of the question as of right now.