Hello, Intro and Background

I just wanted to say Hi to everyone on the forums and introduce myself. My name is Adrian, I am from Illinois. I am 6’0 weighing 190ilbs at 14%BF. Ive only been strength training for a little under 2 years. Before that I was a fat ass, weighing 280ilbs. I managed to lose the weight, and the self-discipline I learned from the dieting carried over to my life.

Moving from 280 to 170 was a big positive change. I was even able to play varsity soccer my senior year of high school because of it. Although I was alot more happier with my physique than when I was obese, I was kind of scrawny (or at least I thought I was, especially compared to being used to being huge) and wanted to gain some muscle (of course who dosn’t right?).

So it began. I started learning as much about weightlifting as I could by reading a shit load. Especially, a bunch of the articles here on T-Nation. With overall great advice from all of their authors, and especially from my favorite authors such as Dave Tate, Polquin, Thibaudeau I have been able to experience great results. I went from struggling to put up 95 on the bench press, to being able to put up 225. Not that impressive but a milestone for me on my way to 315. Raw Squat 315, and raw deadlift nearly 405 (lockout issues).

My training has been very diverse. It went from me owning two 30 pound dumbells and curling them every day. To a bodybuilder type split. Then I read about the 5x5 powerlifting training and of course I had to implement it. It lead to great strength gains. Recently, I have been doing some cluster sets, and rest-pause. Overall, now my training takes a periodization approach.