T Nation

Hello all

I've just registered and thought I'd give everyone my story.

I've been reading T-mag web articles for a couple of months now and the t-forum for a few weeks. I started training at about age 16. I weighed about 120 lbs at the time at about 5'9 (very skinny!). I trained on and off (my training got more serious & consistent over the years) until age 23 at which point I just stopped -long story. That was about four years ago. I recently started training again, since June, and it's been slow getting back into shape but I love being back in the iron game.

My stats (before my long layoff from training) where:

BW: about 165-170 lbs
Arms: 16.5 inches cold flexed, 17 pumped
Calves: a little over 16 inches cold (not much bigger when pumped)
Quads: a tad under 25 inches
Waist: 27 inches contracted, 29 relaxed
Body Fat %: ? never got it tested but I was very defined, definetely in the single digits.

Lifts in the gym:

Squat: 405 X 6 (Done with a fairly wide stance, down to parallel, no belt, no wraps, no nothing.)
Dead-lift: 415 X 6 (sumo, no gear as above but with lifting straps)
SL dead-lift: 315 X 8
Leg-press: 10 plates per side X 8
Hack squat: 5 plates per side X 6 (going all the way down)
Flat bench: 225 X 8, 275 X 1 (I always sucked at these)
Incline bench: 205 X 8
Incline DB bench: 100 X 6
Dip: BW + 160 lbs X 6
Close-grip bench press: 205 X 6
Pull-up: BW + 70 lbs X 8
etc..

I trained mostly in the 6 to 8 reps range. I very rarely did singles. My split was Quads Hams Calves, Chest Back, and Arms. I'd do abs on leg day if I wasn't too spent, otherwise I'd get them in on another day. I trained about 4 days a week.

At the present time I weight about 170 but with much higher BF% (and extra inches around my waist), my other measurements are about an inch or so bellow my previous best, and I think I'm about 15 lbs of lean mass less. Strength is much lower though! It's actually puzzling to me.

Anyway, I leave it to that for now.