T Nation

Heisman Talk

Ok we are a good chunk into the college football season so let's get our Heisman Trophy talk going.

Who is the Heisman favorite so far?

My early favorite is Graham Harrel of Texas Tech. He has some huge games coming up (UT next week) so we will see if he has what it really takes to pull it off.

Pro material? Probably not. See: Jason White

Colt McCoy, that's about it. The only way anyone else will get a Heisman this year is if they rob a former winner's trophy.

Harrel is a system QB with an excellent receiver. Every QB at TTU under Leach has thrown for gaudy yardage. You need to give the Heisman to a player who takes a team up a notch, regardless of pro material. Everyone knows that the Heisman almost always goes to someone who is NOT pro material.

As much as it pains me to say it, I am picking McCoy. I am just hoping that his success this year leads to a jump to the NFL.

PS, my husband wants me to tell you that he thinks I'm a bullshit artist.

Harrell is certainly a system QB but up to this point him and McCoy are neck and neck.

I just think that Harrell being the head of that monster of an offense down at TTU is worthy of it up to this point. Like I said next week will speak volumes of Harrell though as he hasn't quite faced a Texas caliber team yet.

If McCoy wasn't bailed out by the UT defense today at the end of the game you might be singing a different tune. 1 critical INT and 1 critical fumble and Oklahoma State couldn't capitalize.

PS you're not the only bullshit artist

PSH. I'm so fucking sick of the Big 12. No defense + No Running Game = Big Passing Numbers. Graham Harrel is a joke, just like every other Big 12 quarterback................ excluding Colt McCoy, who's my favorite for the Heisman.

Hypocrisy? Maybe. It's the craziest thing, though, Colt McCoy puts up great numbers and changes the game with throwing 60+ passes a game.